The Closing Of The Year

Hello again, little earbuds. I hope that you’re having/have had a lovely holiday season. I wish that I had something more profound to say at the close of the year, but if you’re looking for something like that, try The Procrastinator’s Project Journal. I was feeling more thoughtful when I last updated that one. Right now I’m just enjoying my Christmas presents and looking forward to spending the weekend with my family, which is even better, in my opinion! So today is a flashback video entry, and one that I think is very appropriate for the last week of 2011.

Toys was such an odd little movie that it really stuck out in my mind, and I have very vivid recollections of watching it when I was a child. I don’t even remember what possessed me to purchase the soundtrack, but I did, and I listened to it over and over and over again. Truth be told, the movie freaked me out a bit and made me sad, but the soundtrack was completely enchanting. I have found the music to hold up well over the years, and every now and then I just get a hankering to listen to the Grace Jones, Thomas Dolby, or Enya tracks. But this song, “The Closing of the Year,” by Lisa & Wendy, captivated me from the very first time that I heard it. In thinking back, it might have been the catalyst for me purchasing the soundtrack.

Just now as I listen to the song for this entry, the part when all the instruments kick in and the voices sing, “aaaaaaaAAAAAAAA” literally makes me feel like someone just poured warm water inside my chest, and it trickles down throughout my torso. I began singing along and was amazed that even though I haven’t listened to this song in several years, I remember all of the words. It just made that much of an impact on me. When I looked it up on YouTube, I didn’t even know there was an official music video for it! Wendy and Lisa are rockin’ their early 90s hair and leather pants amidst those creepy toys. And Seal has a cameo! And he’s wearing a feather-plumed top hat! This video, and this song, are all kinds of wonderful, especially for the way it makes me feel perfectly, completely happy.

And so I wish you a joyful closing of the year, little earbuds! May the new year shine brightly for us all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Memories and Nostalgia, Movies, Music Videos

Leave a Reply

