The Sounds Of Inspiration, Part IV: Mediaeval Baebes

Happy almost-Tofurkey Day! I love Thanksgiving not only for the rad food, but also because it officially kicks off the winter holiday season. In honor of the impending beauty of winter soon to be surrounding us (or perhaps here already, depending upon what section of the globe you inhabit) I chose one of my favourite seasonal tunes as today’s inspirational song of choice, “So Treiben Wir Den Winter Aus” by Mediaeval Baebes. I love this instrumental piece so much that I’ve been known to put it on repeat and fall asleep to it. Needless to say, those are some pleasant dreams.

This song struck me with its purity from the moment I first laid ears on it. To me it’s the sound of an enchanted forest grove, silent save for the awakening of a winter forest. The delicate opening strings signify the gentle drops of a melting icicle, landing in melodic patterns on the evergreen plants below. The pristine sound of the flute rises above everything else, but it doesn’t disturb the landscape, it harmonizes with the solitude of ice and snow. The flute is as pure as the sweetest bird call you could ever imagine, and it speaks to the magic and liveliness inherent in the woods, even amidst the depths of winter. Whenever I need to visit that forest, I close my eyes and listen to this brief, simple tune. Suddenly I’m there. It lightens my heart and fills me with that just-before Christmas happiness, when anything is possible and the world is full of cheer.

2 Comments

Filed under Artist Love, Music Videos

2 responses to “The Sounds Of Inspiration, Part IV: Mediaeval Baebes

  1. Love Mediaeval Babes! My little sis turned me onto them about 6 or 7 years ago. 🙂

Leave a Reply

