Today Is A Birthday, They’re Smoking Cigars

Hello little earbuds! Today is the fabulous Miss Pink’s birthday. Which means that you get a short and sweet treat as part of the celebration: Miss Pink’s Top 3 Favourite Birthday Songs!

3.) The Birthday Massacre – Happy Birthday

Pretty much everything by Toronto’s Birthday Massacre is excellent dance music. However, this one has always been one of my favourites. Besides being my first taste of this phenomenal band, this song is creepy and spooky and so, so excellent. The odds are good that even if your local goth DJ refuses to play “Birthday” by The Crüxshadows for you, she or he could hardly refuse spinning this dark ditty for any gothling’s birthday. (And yes, this happened to Miss Pink several birthdays ago!) “Happy Birthday” comes in at #3 on my countdown due to its less-than-celebratory message, but no birthday mix would be complete without its explosive synthrock disturbing partygoers far and wide.

2.) Cibo Matto – Birthday Cake

Let me start off by saying that every song on this album, Viva! La Woman, is about food. Every song! That’s awesome in and of itself. However, this punchy ode to festive cake was the one that caused me to go out and buy the album (many thanks to the Brain Candy soundtrack, and the Kids in the Hall, for introducing me to one of my favourite bands of the 90s). I love its punk-rock vibe enrobed in a luscious trip-hop melody. “Shut up and eat! Too bad no bon appetit! Shut up and eat! You know my love is sweet!” It’s so catchy, how can you not dance along or sing along or do both?

1.) The Sugarcubes – Birthday

I loved this song from the very first moment that I heard it on a mixed tape back in high school. When I went to college in a big city in another part of the country, far from where I grew up, I spent my eighteenth birthday alone. I had never had a birthday away from my family and friends, and I wasn’t quite sure what to do with myself. So I put on my black velvet cape (oh yeah, I totally rocked a cape in my late teens!) and walked around the downtown streets. I went to FAO Schwarz, because that somehow seemed fitting, turning eighteen in a giant toy store. Then I went to Tower Records and bought this album, Life’s Too Good. I went back to my room and listened to this song on repeat while I sat on the heater beside the window of my ninth floor dorm room and looked out over the city. Ever since that day, no matter where I am or who I’m celebrating with, I always make it a point to listen to this song at the exact time that I was born. (It was tricky when I was living in England, but I did the math and made it work.)

This song always uplifts me and makes me happy thanks to its light and airy rhythm and the sweet, almost incoherent lyrics. I loved it when I was a teenager, and I love it still today. This song can transform any day into a celebration of the little things in life, but I find it especially powerful on my actual birthday. It always reminds me of who I was, where I’ve been, and how much I’ve grown. And it’s a wonderful soundtrack to twirling, cloud watching, picking flowers, or just generally indulging in anything that brings a bit of magic into your life.

And that’s it for Miss Pink’s celebratory blog post today! I’m off to open some presents and eat some cake. Cheers, little earbuds!

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Love, Memories and Nostalgia, Top 3

Leave a Reply

