Music For Otakus, Part I: Totally Cute

As anyone who knows me will corroborate, I’m pretty obsessive about music. I’m also fairly obsessive about whatever flight of fancy has taken hold of me in the moment. At present that would be anime, which I’m loving (almost) every minute of (you’ll note that on Otaku Haiku the positive reviews far outweigh the negative). One thing that can take an average anime and push it over the top for me is great music. When two obsessions combine, watch out!

It’s been a while since I updated with a Top Three, and when I looked back over my previous entries I couldn’t believe that I hadn’t posted any anime music lists. All that is about to change. However, since there is so much great anime music, I’m splitting my favourites up into three (maybe more) separate lists. Today, because it’s grey and dreary, I give you my version of stereo sunshine: my top three cutest anime songs.

3.) Ogura Yuko – Onna no Ko Otoko no Ko (School Rumble)

The ending theme song from School Rumble Season One is all about how stupid boys are. But it’s not as sexist as that statement sounds. Instead it’s just mod-sounding cutie-patootie fun all over. The B-side of this single, “Koi no Jumon wa Papa-PiPu-Pa” is even cuter, if you can believe it, but it’s ineligible because it’s not actually used in the anime. Not to fear, this one will have you bouncing out of your chair and go-go dancing after the first verse.

2.) Chatmonchy – Koko Dake no Hanashi (Princess Jellyfish)

Princess Jellyfish! There is nothing un-cute about this anime, and its opening theme song is no exception. (Can you name all the pop culture references? I couldn’t before I looked it up!) I can’t wait to share this anime with my siblings once it finally sees the light of DVD in 2012. Wonderfulness of the actual anime aside, I was hooked from episode one as soon as I heard this song. It sounds the way that the anime as a whole comes across: realistic, sincere, hopeful. And of course, completely cute.

1.) Dimitri from Paris – Neko Mimi Mode (Tsukuyomi: Moon Phase)

This was one of the first anime series that I ever purchased, sight unseen, just because the cover art and story description were right up my alley. When I watched the show, I became instantly obsessed with this song. It’s peppy and electronic and just makes me want to dance. I do dance, actually. I have a “Neko Mimi Mode” dance that I do specifically for this song that makes my sisters laugh every time. My older sister even made this song into a ringtone that plays whenever I call her. The lyrical translation roughly amounts to, “Kitty ear mode” repeated over and over and over, but somehow it works. As for the animation itself, I don’t know why she’s pooping turtle eggs, or hiding in a bear suit, or naked in a bowl of noodles. All I do know is that this is the cutest damn song ever.

And that, my friends, is my list of super cute (but not too cute [Daria reference? Anyone?]) anime songs. Tune in next week to hear more musical stylings from the world of anime!

Editor’s Note: Wow, I completely forgot one of the absolute cutest anime songs of all time (as cute as “Neko Mimi Mode” even!). But have no fear, little earbuds: you can expect a second installment of totally super cute anime songs, coming soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Videos, Top 3

Leave a Reply

