New Band Love: Make Some Time For John & Jehn

Well, new to me, anyway, even though they’ve been around since 2006. I found these two through another new-ish band that I love (thanks O. Children!) after they posted this very video on their Facebook page. I think that this song would appeal to most anyone who enjoys upbeat rhythms with just a hint of darkness. And yes, lots of bands seem to be attempting that combination at present, but not everyone does it so well. This song, “And We Run,” is from their second album, Time for the Devil.

As soon as I saw this video I knew that I needed more John & Jehn, so I bought the entire album, and I must say, it was a good purchase. From the instrumental opener, “Intro,” which ironically brings to my mind a haunted church in the 60s, to the Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel-esque bonus track “Long Way Home,” the whole thing is a time warp trip made fresh in modern ways. I like that both “John” and “Jehn” take turns with the lead vocals, giving each song a different spin than the one before. I have too many favourites to name them all, but I have to mention “Vampire,” which is kitschy and cool, as well as the more 80s-sounding “Shy.” I can’t speak for their earlier work, but Time for the Devil is well worth making time for yourself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Love, Music Videos, New Album Love

Leave a Reply

