Be Excellent To Each Other

According to Ted himself (aka Keanu Reeves) there will be a third Bill & Ted movie coming to a cinema near you. In honor of this auspicious news, today’s video is taken from the first film, Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure. It’s Robbie Robb’s awesomely 80s song, “In Time,” used when Bill & Ted take a side trip into the future.

Despite the strangeness of the sequel, Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey, the first movie remains one of my favourite films of all time. I can watch it in any mood, under any circumstances, and it always makes me smile. I love the underlying premise of Excellent Adventure: yes, what you do can change the whole world. Beyond the hijinks of two funny and slightly dumb high school guys the overall message is that we can evolve, and things can get better. That’s a message that never gets old to me, especially given the inherent downers we all encounter every day. I have no problem with a third film in the franchise, and I’ll probably go see it in the theatre. I just hope it does nothing to mar that gleaming nugget of hope from the first that’s embedded in what is essentially a goofy buddy flick.

Party on, dude!

2 Comments

Filed under Movies, Music Videos

2 responses to “Be Excellent To Each Other

  1. Moo

    OMG, can’t believe there will be more Bill & Ted! Totally agree about its fave film status…I too enjoy any time, any day, and that’s also in part to its upbeat and hopeful attitude, plus being hilarious doesn’t hurt either!

  2. I’m kind of curious if it will really work. I mean, look at the last Indiana Jones film. Eep. But it could also be fabulous. I’m keeping an open mind. 😉

Leave a Reply

