Unicorns, Female Pigs, and Dawson’s Cheese (aka Phoning It In)

Apologies to the three people who actually read this blog, but Miss Pink has gotten oh so behind lately (hence all the late evening posts). However, part of this whole blogging experiment is about keeping to a schedule, so dammit I’m going to post something come hell or high water. Even if it’s just a music video. Still, I hadn’t seen this one until a few days ago, and if you haven’t yet, I guarantee you’ll enjoy it. I was glad to see James Van Der Beek still kickin’ around, and he and Ke$ha prove to be very entertaining in this little vignette. And since I began the week with pop music, why not carry it on through hump day?

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I have mixed feelings about Ke$ha. She’s from Nashville, so yay for a (nearly) local girl making it big. Her song “Tik Tok” was cute for about eight seconds, then I couldn’t take it anymore, and I never even bothered to listen to the rest of the album. However, I caught the vid for “We R Who We R” on my beloved Logo and went ape over it. It’s a great song for in the car, exercising, dancing around the kitchen, what have you. And the message seems frothy amidst all the booze bandied about, but at its core it’s a solid self-esteem boost. Then a friend posted the video for “Blow” and I adored it so much that I purchased the rest of the LP it came from, Cannibal, earlier this very day. However, the rest of the album is… iffy.

Her song “Grow A Pear” is one of the most blatantly sexist songs I’ve heard in a while, so much so that I don’t know that I can stomach to listen to it in full again, catchy pop beats be damned. While Katy Perry’s “Hot N Cold” hints that boys acting “feminine” is undesirable, Ke$ha’s “Grow A Pear” outright states that boys with feminine traits do not melt her butter. While there’s nothing seemingly wrong with having a personal preference for clichéd “masculine” traits in a mate, equating the “feminine” with weakness is degrading. “I just can’t date a dude with a vag,” is one line of lyrics from said song, and she goes on to show how his feminine attributes such as wanting to talk are the reason that she’s breaking up with him.

While this song could mistakenly be taken as having “girl power” because she’s cutting him down a peg or two, in actuality it’s degrading to both men with traditionally “feminine” qualities as well as all women in general. This song is a prime example of female chauvinist pig culture, in which women try to cut down other women in order to be included as “one of the guys” and perhaps therefore get a slice of male privilege. Not only that, but this behavior distinguishes the woman in question from all other women; “What’s with chicks, man? They’re crazy! I’m not crazy, I’m not a chick, I’m like the guys.” Ariel Levy discusses this phenomenon brilliantly in her book Female Chauvinist Pigs: Women and the Rise of Raunch Culture. (Read it, it’s awesome!)

So, overall I’m just not sure about Miss K-dollar sign-ha. Does she truly think so little of “femaleness” in general, or did she just believe that she was writing a funny song? Whatever the case may be, I hope that she takes a note from the many empowering female pop stars before her as to what real girl power in pop music sounds like. As for the rest of the album, time will tell if it remains catchy or falls to the wayside after a few more listens.

Ha, look at that. Guess I can’t stop myself from posting a real entry after all. Enjoy, little earbuds, and come Friday, new album review!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Videos

Leave a Reply

